Co2 Scrubber question...

AI Hydra

clhardy5

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 20, 2020
Messages
271
Reaction score
142
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Been battling with low PH - due to CO2 levels in house....always goes down when my extended family is in, and will raise if I open the windows. In Colorado, it isn't always feasible to keep the windows open, so I decided to get the BRS scrubber. The scrubber and media (two little fishies) came in yesterday, and I got it hooked up. Ph is up to 8.04 (after averaging 7.8). My question is....

The instructions had me add a little water to the scrubber and then put the media tube in. Is this water something that I need to keep a eye on? ie....do I need to add it every couple of days - or is it once and done.

Colorado is such a dry climate....

TIA
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

vabben

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
189
Reaction score
258
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I’m not sure if you need to keep adding the water. Personally I never add water to my scrubber.
 

PeterC99

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
2,625
Reaction score
10,341
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Location
White Plains, NY
Been battling with low PH - due to CO2 levels in house....always goes down when my extended family is in, and will raise if I open the windows. In Colorado, it isn't always feasible to keep the windows open, so I decided to get the BRS scrubber. The scrubber and media (two little fishies) came in yesterday, and I got it hooked up. Ph is up to 8.04 (after averaging 7.8). My question is....

The instructions had me add a little water to the scrubber and then put the media tube in. Is this water something that I need to keep a eye on? ie....do I need to add it every couple of days - or is it once and done.

Colorado is such a dry climate....

TIA
Very important to only add a very small amount of water in the scrubber. You put the water in when you start scrubber and shouldn’t have to add any afterwards.

If you recirculate the scrubber air through top of your skimmer cup (which I highly recommend because media will last along time), must make sure you don’t get too much water in scrubber.
 

Josh Kraft

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
755
Reaction score
499
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Tulsa, OK
Humid air is important to make it function. When it dries, it may not work as well. People combat this by recirculating air (skimmer air is humid), or adding a humidity chamber on their intake to the reactor.
 

capted

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 18, 2016
Messages
108
Reaction score
84
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Moisture helps the media. I have to add it every 3 days or so. Do not add too much and get the media wet or it will decrease the media operation. I also have my air intake plumbed outside to increase the life of the media. I just started that so I can't say how much longer it adds to the life of the media yet. Going on 3 weeks so far.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Josh Kraft

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
755
Reaction score
499
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Tulsa, OK
I use a reactor and have my media up higher with water under. When the air is pulled in, the water bubbles and makes the air humid.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20210522_015944807.jpg
    PXL_20210522_015944807.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 28

DangerDave

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
2,009
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
I like to recirculate the skimmer air. I run it through an empty media reactor after the C02 scrubber, it traps some of the excess moisture. Before that I was getting a lot of water in the scrubber.

This is my usual experience:
Fish Room air- 3 days before changing media
Humidified air - 8-9 days before changing media
Wet media - 5-6 days before changing media

This varies slightly through the seasons…
 

capted

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 18, 2016
Messages
108
Reaction score
84
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I like to recirculate the skimmer air. I run it through an empty media reactor after the C02 scrubber, it traps some of the excess moisture. Before that I was getting a lot of water in the scrubber.

This is my usual experience:
Fish Room air- 3 days before changing media
Humidified air - 8-9 days before changing media
Wet media - 5-6 days before changing media

This varies slightly through the seasons…
Wow, that's pretty fast. Even 9 days. I have heard that before though.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

DangerDave

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
2,009
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Wow, that's pretty fast. Even 9 days. I have heard that before though.

It’s an environment issue for me. There is a water heater in my fish room that causes the Ph to drop. I haven’t actually changed my soda lime in a few weeks. My ato pump broke, so the kalk stirrer is handling the duty for now. Usually I dose four gallons a day through the kalk stirrer. The scrubber and the extra kalk were pushing ph over 8.6, I like 8.2-8.4.
 

capted

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 18, 2016
Messages
108
Reaction score
84
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
It’s an environment issue for me. There is a water heater in my fish room that causes the Ph to drop. I haven’t actually changed my soda lime in a few weeks. My ato pump broke, so the kalk stirrer is handling the duty for now. Usually I dose four gallons a day through the kalk stirrer. The scrubber and the extra kalk were pushing ph over 8.6, I like 8.2-8.4.
Got it. I have a ton of people in and out which I believe causes my co2 issue. I also use a kalk mix but only in my ato.
 
AI Nero 5

DO YOU CARE WHAT THE CORDS AND CABLES LOOK LIKE AROUND YOUR REEF TANK?

  • YES

    Votes: 290 59.2%
  • NO

    Votes: 36 7.3%
  • Somewhat

    Votes: 158 32.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 6 1.2%
ACC
Top