Coloring up Dilemma

Andrews_aquarium

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve come to a recent problem with loosing some color on my higher end SPS Acros. I’ve been battling hair algae for just over a month now, my NO3 was very low so i’ve been dosing for 2 months to keep it at 10ppm. I’ve recently stopped dosing and it’s been sitting at 5ppm.

PO4 was .05-.08ppm but then I added a refugium and it’s gotten it down .00-.03. It has helped the algae problem slowly but surely. I have also added some turbo snails which have been doing a number on the hair algae but it’s taking awhile.

The only problem is i’ve lost some of the intense colors the acros had. They are still growing well but getting more dull.

Wondering what people’s thoughts are, battle the algae with just snails and higher nutrients or let the nutrients stay down and deal with paler corals?

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Deal with the algae in the tank first. Once you have it under control (as in all gone) you can start raising the nutrient levels and the refugium should pull the excess out rather than starting more algae in the tank.

Epic Aquaculture

The artist formerly known as SawCJack00
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Use grazers such as Mexican Turbo snails, urchins, and depending on the size of the tank some herbivorous fish like tangs and foxface. Some algae in the tank is normal and a sign of a healthy reef, it just needs to be kept under control. Bottoming out your PO4 is the most likely culprit for your loss of color.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0