Could anyone help me with a hospital tank set up please

KevPool

Blue-Collar Reefing
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey folks

I'm in a pinch here and could really use some guidance.

My new Royal Gramma has ich the poor little guy. I am trying to set up a new hospital tank I have two tanks I have kicking around a 10 gal and a 30 gal. I've had some extra media bags in my sump for the last month or so in case I need to set up a tank in a pinch. Honestly I am flying blind here as I have never done this before I can use some water from my main setup which is about 210 gal so that should help the cycle and I will put a media bag from the sump in the hang over filter, but other then my bag of media what else is going to hold the beneficial bacteria since it is bare bottom and just a couple pvc pipes for him to hide in? I just am failing to understand what surface area can the bacteria hold onto in a hospital tank. actually any guidance here would be very highly appreciated. also do I add bottled bacteria to the tank to help it along I don't want to take too long to set this up but I also want to assure it is safe for him.

Thanks folk

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The media bag should be fine. You don't need any thing in a tank to support the surface needed for one fish, the pvc is for them to hide/stress. But it might take a bit to build up so frequent water changes are order of the day until the cycle is up and running - and perhaps after as you go through treatments.

DaddyFish

“5 percenter”
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Transferring established media from your DT to the hospital tank helps with ammonia control, but you could also be transferring parasites with it. It's a bit of compromise between ammonia control and parasite population reduction.