Critters on Hammer Coral

MikeO5422

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am looking for opinions on what these little "bugs" are. They are on a very old hammer coral. The hammer has had some heads slowly die. At first I suspected other issues, but I recently saw these. I have not seen them on any other coral, and I have lots of other LPS.

Any opinions are appreciated. I have very little experience with these types of pests (assuming they are pests). Side note, my Corris Wrasse now circles the hammer all day :)

EricR

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe consider sucking a couple out with a turkey baster and putting into small container with a little bit of water for better pictures/video?

OP
OP
MikeO5422

MikeO5422

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe consider sucking a couple out with a turkey baster and putting into small container with a little bit of water for better pictures/video?
I'll see if i can get them under a microscope.

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
MikeO5422

MikeO5422

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Awesome read thank you.

I finally got a video of one...that was very challenging. This thing is slightly red tinted and incredibly small. It is very difficult to find even in a drop of water. These are also the best pics I could get. He has a tiny red dot on his head.

Removed him from the base of a frogspawn polyp with a tiny dropper. They appear as tiny red and black dots on the coral frogspawn.

4.jpg 3.jpg 2.jpg 1.jpg

Last edited:

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Awesome read thank you.

I finally got a video of one...that was very challenging. This thing is slightly red tinted and incredibly small. It is very difficult to find even in a drop of water.