Culturing Tigger pods

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
I have been culturing tigger pods for a couple of months primarily on spirulina powder.

That is impressive! I had no idea they got that big!

Zydan777

View Badges
Reaction score
What is your set up like? I am wanting to start cultivating tiggers. Any advice for a beginner?

OP
Tomoko Schum

Tomoko Schum

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
My setup is simple and inexpensive. There is no need to invest in a fancy setup. They are sturdy little buggers.

I have them in a round wide-mouth plastic container (less than one gallon) in which dog biscuits came in. I am bubbling air into it slowly using a 1/4 inch tubing and a Tetra 10 air pump from Walmart.

I feed inexpensive spirulina powder that I bought from a health food store in bulk (now even cheaper one from Amazon.) I dissolve it in dechlorinated water and add it to the container - just a small amount (barely enough to give the water in the container a slight haze.) Feeding pods too little food does not kill them, but overfeeding them will for sure. If you are using live phytoplankton, overfeeding is not a concern, but if you are feeding them anything non live, you need to feed them very sparingly. They don't need to be fed everyday, either.

Hope this helps.

Zydan777

View Badges
Reaction score