• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Darth's Reefer 250 Tank Build...

DarthSimon

Team R2R
View Badges
Reaction score
So I am tad late to post this. I have been meaning to post this for while. My name is Steve and I have been reefing for about twelve years... My largest tank was a 220 Mixed Reef... I bought a new house 4 years ago and decided to take a break from reefing. Fast forward to this past June and I jumped back in. The Red Sea Tanks looked like a nice option so I started with a Reefer 250. Was perfect size for my living room..... Total Water Volume is 67 gallons... One thing I had always told myself was, if I ever got back into reefing, I would do it right. My older tanks honestly were run lazy. High nutrients, couldn't keep sps, or even some LPS. I over fed, and ran a careless tank.... I had started to run Apex gear, but prolly only had it for maybe 5-6 months before I sold it all off...

So my new Setup..... Wooooo it different....
Here is list of Gear so far:

Red Sea Reefer 250
Lighting: 3 x Radion XR15 Gen4 Pro with Diffusers (WXM MOD for Apex)
Return Pump: Apex Cor20
Power Heads: 2 Vortech MP10 QDW, and 2 Gyre 230's
Skimmer: Reef Octo 150 Regal SS
Lid: Artfully Acrylic Custom
Refugium: Converted ATO into Fuge with Kessil Tuna
Apex 2016
3 Apex Dos Pumps: 1:Calcium and Alk 2: Nopox and Mag 3: Automatic Continuous Water Changes plumbed from my basement. 2 Gallons a day added and drawn out to waste line.
Apex ATO plumbed to basement. Salt water station in basement all done automatic, with Apex Sensors. When Sensor at botton of tank opens, DOS shuts of (Water Change) Selenoid valve opens and tank gets filled with rodi water. Once top sensor closes Valve closes, and I add salt.... Almost zero work... [emoji4]

External BRS GFO reactor running 24/7