Diamond Goby Rapid Breathing and not eating for 3 days VIDEO

MattSD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

Newbie here. I'm afraid I'm about to lose this little Diamond Goby. She was purchase as part of a pair 9 days ago and acclimated well into my FOWLR 55g AIO tank. She and her partner were always side by side and while the male was more active, she was sifting and ate some of the mixed Mysis and spirulina/brine shrimp I had been feeding.

4 days ago, I did not see her come out of the cave they had made.
Finally saw her, but the past 3 days I have not seen her even attempt to eat the food around her. I would feed the other fish on the opposite side of the aquarium and made sure she had food (mysis, brine shrimp, and small chroma boost pellets) falling around her, but she hasn't even tried for the past couple days.

She is wasting away and becoming cachectic and rapid breathing. She's still coming out intermittently and will clear some sand from cave entrance, but not sifting for a few days.

These 2 fish were not quarantined.

Other fish in the tank are small clown pair added 4 months ago, threadfin anthias, royal gramma, scarlet skunk cleaner shrimp, all doing well and acting normal. Her partner seems completely fine. All fish and tank inhabitants have come from same LFS.

Since getting the clowns, one of them has had white stringy poo off and on despite trying to feed metroplex/focus chroma boost pellets. Seems to help intermittently, but recurs. I thought it had resolved before putting them in the DT from our QT tank, but it came back. I have not treated the water with metro as I understood trying to treat intestinal issue may be better with food.

About 1 month ago, I had gotten a bangai cadinal which had a similar history as this one. Did fine for 9-10 days, but then became more lethargic than usual and stopped eating. Rapid breathing ensued and fish died. I did notice this one also had a small white stringy poo the day before dying.