Dino ID, please?

silverarrow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been battling this for a few months. I've finally purchased a microscope to identify it. I believe this is Ostreopsis, can someone can help confirm? Thanks!

IMG_3412.jpg IMG_3411.jpg

OP
OP
silverarrow

silverarrow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's another pic, this time at the highest magnification.

Attachments

• IMG_3413.jpg
    IMG_3413.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 74
OP
OP
silverarrow

silverarrow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's a video...caught some kind of marine mite walk across

Last edited:

saltyhog

blowing bubbles somewhere
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You have two different types. Amphidinium and ostreopsis. Ostreopsis is pretty toxic and very susceptible to properly sized and plumbed UV. Highly recommend running GAC to minimize the damage from them. Dosing silicates will help with the amphidinium. Keep NO3 and PO4 up (5-10 and 0.06-0.12 respectively).

Chrisz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here’s a good website for dinoflagellates

This helps a lot! I have gone from Amphidinium sp. to Cyanobacteria, I will take the cyno way more easy to get rid of

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
I see ostreo
First- Check phosphates and nitrates to assure theyre not elevated.
Here is full program:
Prepare by starting with a water change and blow this stuff loose with a turkey baster and siphon up loose particles.
Turn lights off (at least white and run blue at 10-15%) for 5 days and at night dose 1ml of hydrogen peroxide per 10 gallons for all 5 nights. If you dont have light dependent coral- turn all lights off.
During the day dose 1ml of liquid bacteria (such as bacter 7) per 10 gallons.
Clean filters daily and DO NOT FEED CORAL FOODS OR ADD NOPOX as it is food for dinos.