DIY ATO (Automatic Top Off) Controller

oldchoppy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The thread will document the creation of a DIY ATO for my display tank, but will work in a sump. The focus is primarily a learning exercise because I am still new to the hobby and enjoy an electronics DIY project. This project contains a custom circuit board design that can be sent to PCB companies for fabrication.

The design and documentation are intended to be open source, so I will post information regarding design decisions, materials lists, and design documents. Also, I am interested in feedback for adding additional features to the design because this is a learning experience after all!

The following board should be shipped this weekend and I will post pictures during assembly. I have not tested this design yet and will post the results.

Board Layout and Schematic:
Board Layout.png

schematic-png.1460409

Basic Design Details:
  • 12V DC Operating Voltage
  • 2A Fuse Protection
    • Traces are oversized at 70mil. I treated them as an internal layer because my enclosure does not have good ventilation with a temp rise of 10 degrees C and 3 Amp current in case the fuse needs time to catch an issue.
  • Compatible with DC pumps rated 12V @ under 2A
    • 12V peristaltic dose pumps work
    • 12V submersible centrifugal pumps work as well, I will use one with a check valve
  • Compatible with optical level sensors
    • The logic (NO/NC) is important right now because I have not implemented jumpers to change the relay logic, this is a possible change to add.
  • Compatible with float reed switches
    • The logic (NO/NC) is important right now because I have not implemented jumpers to change the relay logic, this is a possible change to add.
  • I use aviation connectors because they are cheap, but the wires could be directly soldered or other connectors could be used.
Theory of Operation: