ReefRhythm - Advance Stepper Motor Controller with OpenSource

BDH

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2024
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Location
57110
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You don't really, as the tubing also plays a part here. Using different tubing (e.g. a stiffer rubber) may work.

Most pumps of this fashion require some calibration to ensure more equal flow rates.
This makes sense. And of course I can change the flow rate with the controllers if I go with the two pump system. I was just surprised at how far out they were, all other things being equal.
 

BDH

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2024
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Location
57110
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In my opinion, the idea of a pump with double tubing only fits laboratories where lines are short, etc.

About your issue, I think pumps have different performance because of the of the tubing in pumps and the different line lengths.
But everything can be calibrated. Just calibration should be performed with a real setup. And if you have 2 pumps, for refilling and draining, they can be calibrated separately and it should solve the problem or at least make it less inaccurate
Very true. Once calibrated, do you find that they hold their calibration indefinitely, or is it something that will require frequent checks?
 

theatrus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
2,051
Reaction score
3,442
Location
Sacramento, CA area
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very true. Once calibrated, do you find that they hold their calibration indefinitely, or is it something that will require frequent checks?

Periodic calibration is required - the tubing will stretch and deform, and there is bio-fouiling, but the difference may equalize if both pumps are running the same amount.
 

Danchik

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Location
UA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello @yury88 ,

I received the driver and controller board, connected it, and configured the driver itself according to your scheme.
I have another problem...
Do you have any detailed instructions on how to configure and install the firmware on the ESP32-S3? Unfortunately, I don't understand it...

And what files from the latest version do I need to download from GitHub?

P.S. esptool and python are installed
 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello @yury88 ,

I received the driver and controller board, connected it, and configured the driver itself according to your scheme.
I have another problem...
Do you have any detailed instructions on how to configure and install the firmware on the ESP32-S3? Unfortunately, I don't understand it...

And what files from the latest version do I need to download from GitHub?

P.S. esptool and python are installed
Hi, follow the steps in video:

Link is always going to latest stable vestion.
Current is v0.9.4-master-20240509

Boot mode -keep pushing boot button and connect to usb. Or keep pushing "boot" button and push "reset".
After you can release buttons and flash by command


 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hello, nice project.

i have a setup with A4988 IC like that, but with 24v psu:
Esp32_A4988

is this setup compatible with your project?
Oh no. These are usual drivers that controlled directly by Step impulses.
These project works currently only with smart drivers MKS Servo42C

Its kinda complicated to make project like that with Step/Dir drivers without overpowered single board computer like raspberry pi.

Maybe I will support TMC drivers latter in "next gen" of this project, but its will be also some kinda smart drivers like TMC2209 with UART command support.
Mostly is needed only for supper compact builds with micro pumps. For usual size builds no reason to use old style drivers.
 

Danchik

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Location
UA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@yury88
I installed the firmware, thanks)

If I have a stepper motor (17HS4401S-XH-2.54) for 1.5A
and there is no such current value in the settings.. there is 1.4A or 1.6A, then what value should I set... 1.4A?

Regarding MQTT, I did not understand the settings... what data should be specified for:
MQTT broker
MQTT login
MQTT password

And as for the time settings... is there no option for summer and winter time? To avoid switching between time zones in the future(
 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This stepper drivers support current with 200ma steps. So you can set up 1600ma. Don't worry to much because these drivers do not use extra power if its not needed. It's more like "current limit".

Mqtt broker- IP/Domain name of your broker
Login/password...

About Summers/winter time. If you know how complicated to implement this.
So many countries... :)
But I'll think about these feature
 

Danchik

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Location
UA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@yury88
I faced another problem... under any settings, the stepper motor does not spin... it feels like something is blocking it... I can feel it with my hands that it is darting from time to time.
I've already tried to swap the outside wires in the loop between the driver and the motor, as well as the internal wires, thinking that maybe there is a difference where the wire comes from.

But in the driver settings “Calc” the calibration process is normal, a couple of seconds in one direction and then scrolls in the other.


Perhaps some settings have not been made yet...?
 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just in case restart full setup by power.
Maybe you enabled UART mode of driver and do not restar setup?
This mode start working after restart. I will add this into instruction.

Than, if it's not moving check RX TX wiring, Driver Settings again.
 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About Driver+Motor setup- if its moving by driver "calibration", clockwise and than counterclockwise-its totally correct setup, no need to do with motor anything.
 

Danchik

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Location
UA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just in case restart full setup by power.
Maybe you enabled UART mode of driver and do not restar setup?
This mode start working after restart. I will add this into instruction.

Than, if it's not moving check RX TX wiring, Driver Settings again.
The settings are all saved in the driver according to your instructions, as well as the "CR_UART" mode.

What did I notice.. when there is voltage on the driver and the controller, I can't turn the motor shaft with my hands, it's blocked, that's how it should be..?
But if you turn off the voltage, the motor unlocks and the rotor spins easily.

The contacts between the driver and the RX and TX controller are present and soldered
 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The settings are all saved in the driver according to your instructions, as well as the "CR_UART" mode.

What did I notice.. when there is voltage on the driver and the controller, I can't turn the motor shaft with my hands, it's blocked, that's how it should be..?
But if you turn off the voltage, the motor unlocks and the rotor spins easily.

The contacts between the driver and the RX and TX controller are present and soldered
Yep, its correct that rotor is "Blocked".
When driver is powered on its keep position of rotor.

Can you make photo of your wiring?
Controller Rx should be connected to Tx of driver
Controller Tx to Rx driver
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
And if you have only 1-pump setup your driver Uart_addr should be 0xe0.
Pump 1 will control 0xe0 Driver
Pump 2 will control 0xe1 Driver
 

butch708

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2024
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Germany
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh no. These are usual drivers that controlled directly by Step impulses.
These project works currently only with smart drivers MKS Servo42C

Its kinda complicated to make project like that with Step/Dir drivers without overpowered single board computer like raspberry pi.

Maybe I will support TMC drivers latter in "next gen" of this project, but its will be also some kinda smart drivers like TMC2209 with UART command support.
Mostly is needed only for supper compact builds with micro pumps. For usual size builds no reason to use old style drivers.
No problem,

i ordered some parts today, so i can build your reefrythm.

Thank you for all of your hard work.
 
OP
OP
yury88

yury88

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2023
Messages
194
Reaction score
136
Location
indo-pacific
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2024-05-16 134705.png
    Screenshot 2024-05-16 134705.png
    31.3 KB · Views: 5

Danchik

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Location
UA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, its correct that rotor is "Blocked".
When driver is powered on its keep position of rotor.

Can you make photo of your wiring?
Controller Rx should be connected to Tx of driver
Controller Tx to Rx driver
Ohhh, sorry for my carelessness:disappointed-face:
I had the connection Rx/Rx and Tx/Tx:flushed-face:

Changed, now the engine works from the controller:slightly-smiling-face:
 

Danchik

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Location
UA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@yury88
I try to go to the local server, doser.local

But for some reason the page does not load, as if the address for the browser is not correct...
What could be the reason?
 

Managing real reef risks: Do you pay attention to the dangers in your tank?

  • I pay a lot of attention to reef risks.

    Votes: 115 43.6%
  • I pay a bit of attention to reef risks.

    Votes: 87 33.0%
  • I pay minimal attention to reef risks.

    Votes: 43 16.3%
  • I pay no attention to reef risks.

    Votes: 15 5.7%
  • Other.

    Votes: 4 1.5%
Back
Top