Do I Need To Dose More Ammonia?

BRS

SparklesMcgraw

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
11
Location
Australia
Hey everyone,

I’m currently going through the cycling of a new tank (Red sea 300XL). Started with caribsea love sand and dry caribsea life rock. I’m using Dr.Tim’s and for the first time so just wanted to clarify if I need to dose any more Ammonia as per his instructions? I only added the first dose in day one and two weeks later I’m at zero. Is there any benefit in adding another full dose to 2ppm or will that just give me more Nitrates to water change out. I’m in no rush so was planning on doing a big water change after the Nitrites register zero and once all looks good, add some clowns and leave it lights off for a couple more months to try to reduce the ugly phase.



Cycle details
Day 1 - add ammonia and One and only



Day 2 - Ammonia = 2ppm +

Nitrite =0.05 ppm

Nitrate = 2 ppm

pH = 8



Day 3 - Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 0.2 ppm

pH = 7.5 - 8



Day 4 - Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 0.5 ppm

pH = 8



Day 5 - Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 0.5 ppm

pH = 7.5 - 8



Day 6- Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 1ppm max measurable

pH = 7.5

Nitrate = 5 ppm



Day 7- Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 1ppm max measurable

pH = 8

Nitrate = 10ppm



Day 8 - Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 1 ppm max measurable

pH = 7.5

Nitrate = 10-15ppm



Day 9 - Ammonia = 2ppm

Nitrite = 1ppm max measurable

pH = 7.5-8



Day 10 - Ammonia = 1ppm!!

Nitrite = didn’t test

pH = 8.2 new tester



Day 11 - Ammonia = 0.8ppm

Nitrite = 1ppm

pH = 8.0

Nitrate = 30+



Day 12 - Ammonia = 0.4ppm

Nitrite = 1ppm +

pH = 8.2



Day 13 - Ammonia = 0ppm

Nitrite = 0.5ppm

Nitrate = 30+
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Aqua Man

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
811
Reaction score
1,013
Ammonia reading of Zero!!?? I think that’s the first time I’ve actually heard that. lol

Some reefers will add ammonia again to make sure the 1-2ppm goes to 0 within 24 hrs.
 
OP
S

SparklesMcgraw

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
11
Location
Australia
Really? I would assume a fishless tank would obviously read zero once the added ammonia is processed? I’m using the Red Sea test kits which seem quite consistent.
 

Aqua Man

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
811
Reaction score
1,013
99% of the time the ammonia is a false reading, showing an excess. leading the reefer to believe they have a stuck cycle. Most of the time it’s an API test kit though.

I’m surprised @brandon429 didn’t say anything!
 
Zoanthids

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
19,296
Reaction score
15,912
Location
tejas
does the fact I sent a pm in two seconds after original post mean I’m becoming internet predictable

google will now use this to control my existence by ai


try to imagine a cycle where I’m posting halt! you are not done

i too was astounded he ever got a zero
 
OP
S

SparklesMcgraw

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
11
Location
Australia
does the fact I sent a pm in two seconds after original post mean I’m becoming internet predictable

google will now use this to control my existence by ai


try to imagine a cycle where I’m posting halt! you are not done

i too was astounded he ever got a zero
Thanks a lot everyone. Won’t dose again and just do a big water change. Excited to get some life into this thing.

if it’s a week or two before adding any fish should I put some Ammonia in to feed the bacteria, or just leave as is?
 

Attachments

  • A2CB2206-5CF1-404A-99DD-649FE6CA060E.jpeg
    A2CB2206-5CF1-404A-99DD-649FE6CA060E.jpeg
    162.2 KB · Views: 26

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
19,296
Reaction score
15,912
Location
tejas
It won’t matter, nobody has ever documented a starved cycle (undoing one by withholding feed). Most would toss in a pinch of food that would hold even for self-acquisition skeptics.
 
BRS

Have you ever had a reef tank with no sump and how did it go?

  • YES and it was just fine

    Votes: 380 58.8%
  • YES but it was difficult

    Votes: 112 17.3%
  • NO

    Votes: 142 22.0%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 12 1.9%
Top