Do you trust your apex temp probe?

Neptune

Paranoiattack91

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
265
Reaction score
101
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
California
I just set up my apex on my new tank and am frustrated by the temp reading but am not sure how accurate it is, I REALLY do not want to have to run a chiller. The tank is 180 gallon with a trigger systems cr44 sump and I have no equipment or lights running yet other than the return pump. My house is set at 76 degrees at all hours of the day but the tank temp is reading at 83 degrees on the apex. I threw a cheap ink/coralife digital thermometer in and it is reading at 77.6 degreees. Have any of you that run an apex had issues with the temp probe? I ordered the Hannah thermometer on brs to compare but it won’t be here for a few days.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

PeterC99

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
2,671
Reaction score
10,522
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Location
White Plains, NY
I have the same situation as you. I added this clip on dual fan where you can adjust speed. I’m able to keep 90g tank temps below 79.5 degrees.
CFA9B002-D252-4938-9D9C-ADE17EFAD825.jpeg
 

rhostam

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2020
Messages
406
Reaction score
580
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Aurora
Yes, I do.

But I also have the heaters attached to an external controller (InkbirdSmart) to confirm values. I worry a lot about equipment failures.

Primarly line of defense is the Inkbird and it’s two temp probes. It shuts off and on the heater during regular operation. If it fails (ON), then the Apex will shutoff the power to the Inkbird based on its reading.

Inkbird and Apex alert based on thresholds.
 
OP
Paranoiattack91

Paranoiattack91

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
265
Reaction score
101
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
California
I have the same situation as you. I added this clip on dual fan where you can adjust speed. I’m able to keep 90g tank temps below 79.5 degrees.
CFA9B002-D252-4938-9D9C-ADE17EFAD825.jpeg
I don’t mind running a fan, I am just more confused on why the tank is reading so hot with no equipment running and the house being at 76 at all times.
 

PeterC99

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
2,671
Reaction score
10,522
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Location
White Plains, NY
I don’t mind running a fan, I am just more confused on why the tank is reading so hot with no equipment running and the house being at 76 at all times.
Think about it. What pumps, UV light and other equipment are you running that increases tank temps? What does your heater controller say the tank’s temp is?

My Apex is controlling my fan On/Off.
 
OP
Paranoiattack91

Paranoiattack91

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
265
Reaction score
101
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
California
I
Think about it. What pumps, UV light and other equipment are you running that increases tank temps? What does your heater controller say the tank’s temp is?

My Apex is controlling my fan On/Off.
I think you are misunderstanding what I am saying. I have 0 equipment running in my tank yet, so 83 degrees that the controller says does not make sense but we will see when the Hannah thermometer comes in.
 
BRS

Billldg

GHL Bound
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
15,114
Reaction score
108,378
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
You have to look at what where you are measuring vs. where the probe is. Even though I have a GHL switch over thread, I still have my Apex up and running. I currently have my Apex probe in my sump along side my GHL temp probe. If I measure at the site of the Apex probe, it is pretty close. If I measure in the tank, the Apex probe is roughly 1 degree off. You can calibrate the Apex probe if it is off when measuring at the same spot. No probe, GHL or Apex is perfect when they are introduced to our tanks. :) ;)
 

clifg

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 28, 2013
Messages
916
Reaction score
1,031
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Belmont, MA
I compared mine with a traceable thermometer:


it was actually spot on out of the box. That being said I'm sure some are off. I like having this thermometer because I can use it to temp my mixing station as well as check the calibration of the apex temp probe
 

DeniseAndy

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
6,125
Reaction score
7,782
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Milford, Ohio
There is life in the tank giving off heat. Think about a room with one person and it at 76 degrees. Now take that room and add 100 people. The room temp will go up. Bodies, life, everything. Now, I am not saying your probe is not off by a few degrees, but you cannot expect the tank to run at room temperature. At least that is my thoughts.
Let me know if I am way off, it is later for me. My brain goes to bed early. :)
 
OP
Paranoiattack91

Paranoiattack91

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
265
Reaction score
101
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
California
There is life in the tank giving off heat. Think about a room with one person and it at 76 degrees. Now take that room and add 100 people. The room temp will go up. Bodies, life, everything. Now, I am not saying your probe is not off by a few degrees, but you cannot expect the tank to run at room temperature. At least that is my thoughts.
Let me know if I am way off, it is later for me. My brain goes to bed early. :)
There is no life in the tank yet. No fish, inverts, lights or equipment (other than the dc return pump). We will see when the Hannah gets here. I don’t trust the 77 degree reading that the coralife thermometer is giving but the 83 degree reading that the apex is giving seems way high.
 
Corals.com

Sleepydoc

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
1,145
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Everyone is telling you why your tank may be warm, but @Billldg is correct; you first need to check to see if it’s correct and then calibrate it if necessary. Part of the problem is most of the thermometers we get are hobby-grade and not terribly accurate. The thermometer from BRS is a great option but you can also calibrate thermometers using an ice bath (assuming they have a linear temperature curve.) It’s probably not a bad idea to check the calibration of your other thermometers, too.

 

TKCorals

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
71
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Just a heads up I had the temperature probe on my apex fail recently. I would check your temperature probe every once in a while to make sure it is working properly.
 
Neptune

How long does it take to you to get an inch of acropora growth? (on average)

  • A couple of weeks or less

    Votes: 3 1.5%
  • Up to 1 month

    Votes: 13 6.3%
  • Up to 2 months

    Votes: 19 9.2%
  • Up to 3 months

    Votes: 35 17.0%
  • Up to 6 months

    Votes: 49 23.8%
  • Up to 12 months

    Votes: 14 6.8%
  • 12+ Months

    Votes: 5 2.4%
  • I can't grow acropora

    Votes: 59 28.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 4.4%
UniqueCorals.com shop rare & farmed corls
Top