Dosing pump not working , not been dosing 3a for a while .. what should I do ?

Discussion in 'Triton Applied Reef Bioscience' started by Jason mack, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. Jason mack

    Jason mack Monti madness R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    4,789
    Location:
    Holland
    @Tim@Triton
    Hi Tim , I’ve just noticed that my 3a bottle on my dosing pump is still almost full while the other 3 are at 1/3 .. my Alk has been steady at 8.6 for weeks now .
    Will there be any adverse affects because of this ? Unbalance?
    What should be my next course of action too rectify this
    Apart from fixing the dosing pump of course :D
    Any advice would be welcome !
    Here the link to my test results from 10/10/2017
    https://www.triton-lab.de/en/showroom/aquarium/auswertung-b/icp-oes/36700/
    Thanks in advance
    Mack
     
    Tags:

  2. Tim@Triton

    Tim@Triton Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    No they should be ok, just return to equal dose and monitor as you may need to reduce the dose with 3a back online.
     
  3. Jason mack

    Jason mack Monti madness R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    4,789
    Location:
    Holland
    Update ..
    well it turns out all the bottles are different spent 2 hrs calibrating and recalibrating again .. all pumps are working so I really can’t find the problem .. going too monitor things
    This is what I got when I weighed the bottles
    1 -450gr
    2- 400gr
    3a 850 gr.
    3b 600gr
    Not sure where too go from here .....
     
  4. Tim@Triton

    Tim@Triton Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Check for any blockages in the tubes first and foremost, then check for any other restrictions such as pinches in the tube when going around corners etc.
     
  5. Jason mack

    Jason mack Monti madness R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    4,789
    Location:
    Holland
    Yup like I said .. I’ve checked ,calibrated them rechecked ..and recalibrated again .... all working now ..
     
  6. siggy

    siggy Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    systematically alternat hoses/additives to narrow down further
     
    Jason mack likes this.
  7. ReefingwithO

    ReefingwithO Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    I was using the CoralBox doser and what would happen is that the doser would pull in some air bubbles in the line. Now when I was dosing 2 part at 50ml per day of calcium and alk - a ml here and there wouldn't cause a big deal. Because Triton is so concentrated, missing a ml here and there when you are dosing 10 ml a day will cause issues over time.

    I tried tubes, calibration, check valves ect. I just went with a better dosing pump. I bought the GHL doser 2.1 but I'm sure there are other options which are not as expensive but work well.
     
    Jason mack likes this.
  8. FGK

    FGK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How you GHL doser is working? I noticed I have similar issues with 3a and 3b with my GHL doser 2.1. I just started dosing about a month ago and I did a alk test Today and it was lower than normal (around 7). So, I noticed the 3 a and 3b was not dosing. It seems the lines got clogged or air moves inside the tubing. I kept the pumps running until I start seeing liquid going into the tank. I hope this will fix for now. I will keep an eye on the doser and Alk.
     
  9. Jason mack

    Jason mack Monti madness R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    4,789
    Location:
    Holland
    Quick update .. ive thrown my old aquamedic Doser away and bought a new one from CoralBox with WiFi .. ive been using the new one for About a month now and i Love it .. easy To use and calibrate ..
     
  10. justingraham

    justingraham Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    3,067
    It is a nice doser for the price isn’t it?

    I just upgraded to two Dos and Ddr it is so much easier but a heck of a lot more expensive

    I’m a hold on to my coralbox as a back up and to dose acropower as it has treated me right
     
    Jason mack likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...