DW's post apocalyptic build(s)

deedubz

nuttier than a squirrel turd
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To skip the background info scroll to post two.

If you're still with me, hey there! I'm Dave. I'm 34 and live outside Annapolis, MD. I do HVAC by trade and dabble in a bunch of other stuff for fun. I've been reefkeeping since late summer 2016. I had a 55g and 2 fluval evo 13.5g tanks. I ended up giving my sister and her daughter one of the evos about a year ago. Things were going great in my 55 and evo until January 2018....

Even though I'd been quarantining all new fish since early 2017, I wasn't doing it for coral or inverts. Unfortunately, I ended up with velvet and prazipro resistant flukes from ~20 new snails and hermits. I had, between the two tanks, 15 fish. I'm currently down to 7 but I am thankful that I was at least able to save them. I have a very small home... I'm talking 700 sq ft! In order to treat my fish I had to break down both dts to setup 4 qt tanks. I gave my oldest niece and her fiance my 55 knowing they'd run it fallow a few months before adding fish of their own. I gave them the entire setup minus my light fixture.

Anyway, the surviving fish are all doing great and have been post copper for a few weeks now. We're ready to rebuild. Here's to a new and hopefully more successful start!

OP
OP
deedubz

deedubz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As stated, this is a complete reboot. The tanks will be-
Coralife LED 32g Biocube
Crystal Dynamics 60x30x24 rimless 180g
IM fusion 10 for invert qt until I get a frag tank. I'll be doing my CuC qt and a few cheap frags until the two DTs are up and running and then I'll transition over to a real Frag/invert tank.

My Biocube will be here tomorrow. I've already purchased some goodies and have a few things that'll be trickling in next week. My 180 should be ready within the next few weeks. I have a handful of things I still need to buy but I'm 95% there.

Stay tuned!

OP
OP