Eletric torch

Jeff C

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've had my torch for about 3 months now. In all this time I've never seen it stay skinny like this for more than a day.
image.jpeg

That's a current picture and has been like this for a few days and slowly getting smaller.

I'm thinking maybe it's a flow problem, but don't wanna move him unless I have to.

image.jpeg

OP
OP
Jeff C

Jeff C

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm still pretty new to the hobby so I haven't bought an alk test kit yet. However, I am taking the water to get fully tested later tonight. That torch is beautiful.

Forgot to mention the most important thing. Don't know why I forgot this so I'm sorry. My tank also had a case of the Ick and got all 4 of my fish. I'm told that does not affect any coral.

Golden Reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I test for magnesium, calcium, alk, nitrates, and salinity weekly. I removed all my fish from my tank for 8 weeks bc of ich. I had to feed my corals regularly due to low nutrients.

OP
OP
Jeff C

Jeff C

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Right now I only test for nitrates, nitrites, ph, ammonia, and of corse salinity. These, have been within parameters since the beginning and tested every week, kept electronically on aqua mate. I can't say for sure that my cal,alk and mag levels have stayed in, but I've kept good care of the tank. The Ick thing was my inexperience. For the light, I have a coralite mini and feed him twice weekly with Spirulina brine shimp.

reefnfeef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would advise not testing for nitrates and test the big three: alk, cal, and mag + salinity. If those are correct the pH will fall in line given good circulation. Unless you are seeing a lot of excess algae - I wouldn't bother testing for nitrates as long as the big three are good

OP
OP
Jeff C

Jeff C