ESV for alkalinity and kalkwasser for Calcium??

dzolot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

so I’ve been using kalkwasser in my 150g mixed reef for the last five years. My alk is very low at 5.2dkh. calcium is 470 and mag is 1500.

I started dosing ESV alkalinity to get the alk up. So my question - is there any reason i can’t doses ESV for alk and continue to dose kalkwasser for calcium (and to keep ph elevated)?

thank you in advance!

here’s a pic of my tank (crazy it’s doing this well with such low alk, but it is!!)

63572DA4-12E6-4375-B620-4488C721E4DE.jpeg

OP
OP
dzolot

dzolot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Beautiful aquarium! Is it possible that your Alk testing is incorrect? Have you ever validated the reading with a different test kit or ICP?
Thank you! And good question. Yes, i tested with both Hanna and Red Sea test kit.

Garf

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

so I’ve been using kalkwasser in my 150g mixed reef for the last five years. My alk is very low at 5.2dkh. calcium is 470 and mag is 1500.

I started dosing ESV alkalinity to get the alk up. So my question - is there any reason i can’t doses ESV for alk and continue to dose kalkwasser for calcium (and to keep ph elevated)?

thank you in advance!

here’s a pic of my tank (crazy it’s doing this well with such low alk, but it is!!)

63572DA4-12E6-4375-B620-4488C721E4DE.jpeg
Yes, you can rebalance it slowly, then revert just to kalk, as it supplies calcium and Alkalinity.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
started dosing ESV alkalinity to get the alk up. So my question - is there any reason i can’t doses ESV for alk and continue to dose kalkwasser for calcium (and to keep ph elevated)?

You do realize that limewater (kalkwasser) supplies both calcium and alkalinity?

Reefahholic

Acropora Farmer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0