Fairy & Flasher wrasses life span?!?

MarvinsReef

Clownfish Aficionado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been keeping fairy and flasher wrasses since 2004/2005 but I've never kept them more than 2 years. I've either have to move or a change of heart, therefore letting them go. only after able to have the 110g that I'm able to keep them for a longer period of time. currently, my oldest wrasses are the HI Flames who started out as 2 females back in Oct 2009. they are both males now and have a mutual understanding of each other's space. :)

my question is what's the longest period of time you've kept your fairy or flasher wrasse?

how big was it when you get it?

how big of a tank are they in now?

if you got your wrasse as a female/sub male, how long did it take for it to turn Terminal male?

I guess I'm just interested in discussing these guys further. we've all seen the awesome pics. now we need to study them more so we can keep them for a long time in our tanks. looking forward to having a good discussion. :)

OP
OP
MarvinsReef

MarvinsReef

Clownfish Aficionado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I guess me, myself, and I will keep track of the life span and progressions. :hammer:

Brad Syphus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had most of mine for over 3 years now. I have lost a few, they just disappear, and lost quite a few before I had my good screen mesh cover.
Ever since I went with the 1/4 inch mesh, I haven't lost one. I would say that is the biggest killer of wrasses, Carpet surfing.

OP
OP
MarvinsReef

MarvinsReef

Clownfish Aficionado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks Brad. anyone else have had their F&F wrasses around 5 years?

cee

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0