First night with SW tank

PaulPerger

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been researching SW tanks for over two years and this may sound weird, but one thing I have looked forward to is nighttime. In my FW tanks I have never had livestock (other than snails) that behaves so much differently at night than during the day.

I have a small holding tank set up and cycled while I finish building my DT and sump. I added some corals (my first corals ever) and 5 Blue/Green Chromis yesterday.

The corals (Zoas, Hammers, and a blastomussa) began to open yesterday, but today opened much more and the Chromis attacked their meal today.

About two hours after lights out I had to go into that room and when I turned on the lights I saw no fish and all the corals were almost completely closed. For a hot minute I thought everything was dead.

Then a chromis slipped out under a rock and I realized my "reef" was sleeping. It was behaving like a reef should behave.

Kind of a weird "proud" moment, but it was the first moment in which I realized that I can do this.

It was my first "proud reefer" moment.

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
. . . It was behaving like a reef should behave.

Kind of a weird "proud" moment, but it was the first moment in which I realized that I can do this.

Worth being proud!

OtterProud.gif

saltyhog

blowing bubbles somewhere
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's awesome! There will be many more moments like this...and some that are a challenge, but it's all worth it.