View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, i just purchased my first tank. Heres what i got:
Corallife biocube 29
25lbs of live hatian rock
20lbs live pink fiji sand

Im very new to this and did a lot of research and i was sold on the biocube. Being the new guy on the block, i would like to know a few things.
When should i do my first tests?
What should my numbers be before introducing coral/fish
Should i do a water change while the tank cycles?
Should the lights be on while cycling?
What modifications are recommended in regards to filtration ( want to make this a reef tank)
ImageUploadedByReef2Reef Aquarium Forum1373253836.110076.jpg

fernb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I also have a 29 gal Coralife BioCube and it took my tank 1 1/2 weeks to finish cycling. You can test during the cycling process. you will first see a spike in ammonia followed by a spike in nitrites and finally a nitrate spike. When the ammonia, and nitrite levels are back to zero do a water change to bring down your nitrates some. At that point I added my cleaning crew. I purchased my first corals soon after this and only added corals that are easy to care for and don't mind less than ideal water conditions, ie. mushrooms, zoanthids.
I went real slow in adding fish as I new that was going to increase load significantly.
You can follow my thread and see what modifications I made along the way
https://www.reef2reef.com/forums/nano-reefs/118571-fern-isabels-29g-coralife-biocube.html

I hope this helps.

OP
OP
djsuperman

djsuperman

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im on day 2 and did my first saltwater test ( since ive never done it before) and this is what i got:
ImageUploadedByReef2Reef Aquarium Forum1373306611.518534.jpg

Thoughts?

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Tank is looking good! I like the aquascape!

fernb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0