First time setting up refugium. Any and all advice welcome!

RockyroadReef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am setting up a refugium in my sump. This is my first time so I don't know much other than what I watched on some YouTube videos. So any advice will be appreciated!
I have a 75 gallon tank, ~30 gallon sump. Tank is established, I have lots of coral and fish in there. If any more information is needed lmk.
Thanks for your help :)

Pistondog

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have live rock in my refugium and a bed of chaeto on top. Lots of Pods, snails, crabs, get a strong horticulture led for growth.
Good luck, let us know your plans.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe a picture of the sump area where the fuge is going to be established.
Water flow in/through the fuge?
Lighting you have, or our considering,
Reason for setting up the fuge? Nutrient removal, pod area???? :)

OP
OP
RockyroadReef

RockyroadReef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe a picture of the sump area where the fuge is going to be established.
Water flow in/through the fuge?
Lighting you have, or our considering,
Reason for setting up the fuge? Nutrient removal, pod area???? :)
Planning on using it for both. I haven't had a major nutriet problem YET but I'm adding a few more fish so I'm worried the increase of bioload will cause problems. And DEFINITELY for the pods. I have a mandarin goby and his diet is getting expensive

JPM San Diego

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0