Fish Quarantine / Observation Tank

tylertheman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New to the hobby here. Been doing research over the last two years and am finally getting started. I would like your opinions on what I have in mind for a quarantine/observation setup for fish. Here is my plan: 40 breeder with Tidal 55. No mechanical filtration, just plastic bioballs from cycled display. After QT bioballs with be sanitized in bleach, then back to display sump for re-seeding. Heater and cheap powerhead for flow and extra oxygenation. Ammonia badge as well. My idea is to observe the fish for 2-4 weeks for signs of disease and treat only if necessary. Prazipro and Copper on hand if needed. Humblefish is my resource for that. I'd rather not treat prophylactically as I am new to this. All QT equipment is dedicated to QT and none will go to the display except the bioballs. I'll monitor ammonia and do large water changes to manage it.

polyppal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sounds like a solid game plan, I just toss the media after its use in the QT, but if you bleached it and dried it out before adding back to the DT then nothing nasty would survive

I would consider hyposalinity with your fish, also a humblefish protocol. It works extremely well and is very low stress on the fish (particularly compared to copper). You can almost guarantee they are already exposed to Ich... Also Prazipro is easy on the fish and basically a simple to perform treatment that is almost always necessary.

Upvote 0

adittam

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0