for total "control" Which controller is best bang?

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Discussion' started by secretreefer, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. secretreefer

    secretreefer **MAD PHANTOM SCIENTIST** Photo of the Month Award

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pitcairn Island
    especially for my plan to upgrade from my 180G to either a 240G or a 320G. any help would be greatly appreciated. i'm jealous of all my compadres all getting controllers for their lights, etc..etc....blah blah OK ok controllers are great! BUT WHICH ONE? i've narrowed it down to the reef keeper elite or the neptune systems APEX.
     
    Tags:
  2. luvmyacans

    luvmyacans ^^^ Reefer ^^^

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I have a reefkeeper I've had nothing but issues with it and their support is like nothing I've ever experienced. For those reasons alone I'd suggest the apex.
     
  3. Troylee

    Troylee all about the diy!!!!! R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12,265
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Vegas baby!!!!
    Apex or the profilux for baller status!!!!
     
  4. gqjeff

    gqjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Il
    I have 2 profilux units. These r the cream of the crop controllers. Not really sure if there is anything this thing can't do. Expandability is endless with the p3 units.
     
  5. secretreefer

    secretreefer **MAD PHANTOM SCIENTIST** Photo of the Month Award

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pitcairn Island
    spoken from the big balla himself! btw great of you to do the auction bro!

    although i would love a profilux i can't shell enuff scrilla for that . my wife would do something to me while i'm fast asleep if i bought that beast, and it would not be goody goody time....anyways. right now i'm in the range of a RKE or APEX Lite and expand from there.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  6. Glenn

    Glenn Reefer and Model Railroad

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    I have two RKE's and one Apex ... I don't know what the RK's will do when they are connected to your wired/wireless network, but the Apex is awesome. Get the basic Apex system now (approx. $500) and then build it up (if you have to !!!) once you grow up your reef. You won't be disappointed.
     
  7. subielover

    subielover Renegade reefer R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Eastern PA
    Apex is the way to go, great versatility and it isn't a reefkeeper, lol
     
  8. Troylee

    Troylee all about the diy!!!!! R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12,265
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Vegas baby!!!!
    Don't get the light man buy the time you buy the add Ons to get to what a apex does your way over the cost of a apex from the start... Look for used ones I got mine for 400$ even saw on recently somewhere for 350$ just keep your eyes peeled...;)
     
  9. CJO

    CJO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Another vote for Apex. It's amazing what you can do. I have mine controlling my lights (with dimming sunrise and sunset), calcium reactor, ATO, Vortechs, sump return, protein skimmer, moonlights (changes based on moon cycle), temperature (changes based on historic data for the day), etc. It sends a text if there is something wrong besides taking care of it according to the program (turns off calcium reactor if pH drops too much, turns off lighting if temp is too high, turns off non-essential equipment and lowers pumps to 50% if power goes out, etc.)

    CJ
     
  10. gqjeff

    gqjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Il
    Saw a profi pII ex for 450 shipped on another forum the other day. That's a steal. You can upgrade to a 3 down the road also.
     
  11. Reggie

    Reggie unregistered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    My guess is the ultimate controller will be the Vertex Cerebra which is estimated to come out in June -- no word on the price yet though.

    I run the Apex. What I like about it is, you can control up to the seconds level -- I use it to control 5 BRS dosers. You can also program really complicated stuff based on different say float valves, and outlet status. The iPhone app for it is top notch as well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  12. btkrausen

    btkrausen Fish Hoarder R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,835
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    APEX all the way :) I love mine, and there isn't anything that I've wanted to do that it can't handle. I even use the Apex Lite app on my DroidX to control it from anywhere. I've actually turned my lights to Manual On while drive home from the airport with new fish, that way it wasn't a dark tank when I got home :)
     
  13. secretreefer

    secretreefer **MAD PHANTOM SCIENTIST** Photo of the Month Award

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pitcairn Island
    Thanks guys for all your input. Ok looks like the experts have chosen: APEX! i really appreciate all your guys input. but hey, just looking at the apex site..only diff between lite and regular ver is a ph probe????

    Apex Lite System Contents $369.95
    1 Apex Lite Base Unit
    1 Temperature Probe
    1 Apex Display Module w/ 10’ AquaBus cable
    1 EnergyBar 8
    1 6’ AquaBus cable
    1 Owner’s Manual

    Apex System Contents $499.95

    1 Apex Base Unit
    1 Temperature Probe
    1 Apex Display Module w/ 10’ AquaBus cable
    1 EnergyBar 8
    1 6’ AquaBus cable
    1 Standard Grade pH probe (may be upgraded to lab probe)
    1 Owner’s Manual


     
  14. gqjeff

    gqjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Il
    Semi baller status but I will let it pass lol.... It will do what u want.
     
  15. btkrausen

    btkrausen Fish Hoarder R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,835
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    I'm thinking that my Apex Lite came with a pH probe, maybe it was a special they were running since I bought mine when it first came out.

    One thing to note is that on the EB8, only ports 4 & 8 are relay ports, so they will need to be used for equipment that draws little power, like dosing pumps, smaller LED strips, etc. I couldn't run my two LED modules(12 LEDs each) from a regular port, but I could from 4 & 8. My dosing pump was more important, so I switched it back. If you need more relay ports, the older style DC8, which does work with the Apex, are all relay ports.

    Also, from what I've read, the Apex can control pumps like the adjustable Tunze and such, and the Lite cannot. Might be a way to add onto the Lite though, not 100% sure.
     
  16. secretreefer

    secretreefer **MAD PHANTOM SCIENTIST** Photo of the Month Award

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pitcairn Island
    ok thanks i'll look more into that. since i'm in a humid climate i run a 1/3 chiller and my giesemann neptune pro 2x 250w is also a energy guzzler.
     
  17. btkrausen

    btkrausen Fish Hoarder R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,835
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    Yeah, you could easier run those on regular ports. There is actually a heater AND chiller feature built in, so you just plug in the temp numbers and it'll turn it on and off for you.
     
  18. secretreefer

    secretreefer **MAD PHANTOM SCIENTIST** Photo of the Month Award

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pitcairn Island
    so could i put my tunze's, chiller, lights on a EB8? or would that obviously be too much for it?>
     
  19. btkrausen

    btkrausen Fish Hoarder R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,835
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    Yeah, you could run it all through the EB8, should be fine. Which Tunze do you have?
     
  20. secretreefer

    secretreefer **MAD PHANTOM SCIENTIST** Photo of the Month Award

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pitcairn Island
    running 1 tunze 6085 and 3 6045's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...