GFCI surge protector

Kingkold020

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
56
Reaction score
34
Location
Columbus, OH
I’ve been searching online for a while now but I haven’t seen any surge protectors with GFCI. I was trying to find one because the outlet I’m use if doesn’t have it. Is it even a thing? If so please reccomend me one. I’ve also heard of the Tripp lite one but that is gfci only. It doesn’t have surge protection as well.
 
Lazys Coral House
OP
Kingkold020

Kingkold020

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
56
Reaction score
34
Location
Columbus, OH
Specifically, the single outlet GFCI's sold at the hardware store. Please don't plug strips into strips as a general practice.
I see what you mean. I didn’t know plug in gfci outlets existed. I’ll probably go to Lowe’s or Home Depot and try to find one. So could I plug a power strip into that?
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

JGT

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
815
Reaction score
675
Location
Northeast
I see what you mean. I didn’t know plug in gfci outlets existed. I’ll probably go to Lowe’s or Home Depot and try to find one. So could I plug a power strip into that?
You can have GFCI at the breaker or at the outlet. GFCI breaker will make all outlets on that circuit GFCI. GFCI outlet, only that outlet. Outlet is around $20 at HD.
 

moreef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
323
Reaction score
153
Location
Dallas,Tx
Specifically, the single outlet GFCI's sold at the hardware store. Please don't plug strips into strips as a general practice.


I have new apex eb832 that I was planning to plug into a serge protector that will be plugged into gfci outlet. So your not supposed to plug a strip into another strip? Anyone know if the eb832 has surge protection? We get a lot of storms in Texas and I don’t want to risk such expensive equipment. Any ideas? Thanks
 

Biglew11

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
923
Reaction score
1,098
Location
New York
The eb832 has surge protection but not gfci.
Youcan plug a power strip into a plug in gfci

But you shouldn't plug a power strip into a power strip, to many outlets with a potential to overload the outlet that powers them.
 

moreef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
323
Reaction score
153
Location
Dallas,Tx
The eb832 has surge protection but not gfci.
Youcan plug a power strip into a plug in gfci

But you shouldn't plug a power strip into a power strip, to many outlets with a potential to overload the outlet that powers them.

Thanks for info. Im gonna just swap outlet with gfci outlet and plug eb832 in like normal.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Do you have a frag tank, frag rack or some other place for coral frags currently?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 102 44.0%
  • No

    Votes: 125 53.9%
  • Other

    Votes: 5 2.2%

Online statistics

Members online
2,349
Guests online
5,779
Total visitors
8,128
Top