GLB's 12g nano

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never posted a thread for my tank before so here we go! More details to come and thanks for following!
ImageUploadedByReef2Reef Aquarium Forum1378591895.015633.jpg

OP
OP
glb

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks everyone! Here's the history. I started it four years ago as fowlr. I studied about corals and became comfortable with the additional testing before adding any. Five months ago, I started with zoas and gradually added gsp,s, Florida ricordea and acan lords. I've lost a few zoa colonies along the way and never figured out why. I think I might have changed too many things in my filter at once. Right now, I'm using sponges, purigen and denitrate in my sump and compact fluorescent bulbs, 75% actinic blue and 25% 10000k white. I clean the filter media and change 10% of the water weekly. More

OP
OP
glb

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very nice and healthy. Are you going to add any other coral?

I plan on adding more softies and lps. Right now I'm still trying to figure out why I lost those zoa colonies. I think I'll add more acans, as they seem to be growing the most. I also plan on changing to LEDs in the next several months.

OP
OP
glb

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't have a skimmer because most of the advice I've gotten is that I don't need one if I stay on top of water changes.

My tank numbers are usually:

Specific gravity: 1.026
Ph: 7.8-8.1 over the course of a day
Nitrates: 5-15, usually 10
Phosphates: 0
Alk: 9kh
Mg: 1200 (I have a hard time keeping this one high enough-still tinkering with how much to add
Calcium: 420-450
Temp: 78