Green Chromis weird patch?

saltwaterswiftie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a new green chromis that has been in my QT tank for 24 hours now. I did not notice this until now but one of the fish has a small white patch on his head. I am not sure what it is and have not noticed any other symptoms. Is he sick? Should I treat with something? I have some copper power medication just in case.

IMG_0244.jpg IMG_0245.jpg IMG_0249.jpg

OP
OP
saltwaterswiftie

saltwaterswiftie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
could it be that it scratched itself of something maybe?
it might have. the fish seem to be getting along but one of my fish did jump out of the tank when I was drip acclimating and I immediately put him back in. I am not sure if that is the same fish (i have a school of 5)

Matt Bravo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no professional at all, I am definitely more knowledgeable when it comes to corals but imo if it’s eating well, not scratching itself or gasping for air at the surface. Chances are it’s gonna be ok

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
I have a new green chromis that has been in my QT tank for 24 hours now. I did not notice this until now but one of the fish has a small white patch on his head. I am not sure what it is and have not noticed any other symptoms. Is he sick? Should I treat with something? I have some copper power medication just in case.

IMG_0244.jpg IMG_0245.jpg IMG_0249.jpg
its a physical injury and while should heal on its own, chromis like to chase and fight and may subject fish to further injury. Isolation is warranted and treatment with either Seachem Kanaplex or maracyn 2 in a quarantine tank with added oxygen

OP
OP
saltwaterswiftie

saltwaterswiftie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0