Greetings from Houston, Texas

hayala

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am relatively new on Reef 2 Reef. I am an Aggie alumni with a degree in Marine Biology & have an extensive history working around & with aquatic life, I have just recently started my first saltwater tanks for myself. I have to say it is a totally different experience. Loving it! I own two 55gal saltwater tanks and a 40gal freshwater aquaponics system that grows produce. I have had my aquaponics system for a long time. My oldest of the 2 saltwater tanks is about ready for me to start adding corals (I am a complete newbie when it comes to corals). My newest 55 just got done cycling & I have plans to turn it into a predator tank (mini style). In it have a blue spotted puffer, hawkfish, & 3 velvet damsels thus far. Want to get a dwarf lion & a snowflake eel. Looking for other mini predator fish ideas. Thought about a frogfish or scorpion fish, but want to see how my puffer does with the lion first. I don't want any of my new babies to get nipped at.
My favorite animals are sharks, rays, & octopuses. I hope to own tanks one day that accommodate them. For now diving with them will have to be good enough. Also, curious about ordering animals online. I don't know which sites I can trust to be humane in their treatment of animals before & during the shipping process.

Retro Reefer

Slow and steady wins the race!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
E2A31244-B04A-48D1-B069-A6FB8E2B9F27.gif

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to R2R!!! Thank you for the introduction. You will find a wide range of opinions about ordering fish online - I have been pleased with the fish that I have ordered from ORA through LiveAquaria.

OP
OP
H

hayala

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0