Hair algae problem

jmoney7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to saltwater reef tanks and I have a 13.5 gallon fluval about 3 months old. I am dealing with a huge hair algae problem it went away and then came back again pretty hard I change the water weekly and my phosphates and nitrates are pretty low is it just ugly stage of tank?

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Add some giant turbo snails, maybe an emerald crab, and other clean up crew members. If its horrendous, try flux rx. You can also scrub it off with a toothbrush or something and siphon it out.

OP
OP
jmoney7

jmoney7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is a picture

Attachments

• IMG_9353.jpeg
    IMG_9353.jpeg
    212.9 KB · Views: 67
OP
OP
jmoney7

jmoney7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A lot of things say emerald crabs are not reef safe have you had any problems with them eating or picking at coral.

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Here is a picture
First - that is not a lot of algae compared to some - second - yes - add something that eats that algae - I would suggest you contact reef cleaners and ask for their recommendations (Not affiliated).

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Nice tank btw:). And Welcome to R2R

kevgib67

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I, as well, have never had a problem with emerald crabs and have had them in my tanks for most of the 18 years I’ve been in this hobby. Hard workers, non stop picking and eating algae off my rocks.

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I, as well, have never had a problem with emerald crabs and have had them in my tanks for most of the 18 years I’ve been in this hobby. Hard workers, non stop picking and eating algae off my rocks.