hanging overflow system

Aidenseunglee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am new to this site and hobby. I am working on my first project and purchased a used 55g petco glass tank that I was going to drill for bean animal style overflow system, but after pondering for few days now I am leaning toward just a hanging over flow system since this is my first project ever.
oh by the way I also bought a used Eshopps RS-75 Berlin Style sump. Now I wanted to thank anyone who can guide me to the right direction from here. Should I just go with the hanging overflow system since I would need to drill the tank and work on pvc pipe and all that I really am new to doing? What are the pro's and con's about hanging overflow system? It would be a easier way for me to set up my first tank.

Thank you

RobZilla04

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Either go drilled, or return the tank and purchase a "reef ready". Cons for hang on the back are noise and reliability. You'll need some way to restart the syphon should a power loss cut the water flow. In that instance when the power comes back on, the return pump will begin filling the tank from the sump, yet the overflow is not sending water down. Sump will drain, pump will run dry, big problem.

Go drilled!

jd371

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As someone who's had a HOB overflow for the last 3 years and never had any issues, if I was to do it over again I would drill. A drilled tank looks aesthetically more pleasing and cleaner than one that isn't with all the hardware hanging off the back.