Hanna phosphorus help!

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Discussion' started by xxkenny90xx, May 15, 2019.

  1. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    Ok either my water quality is horrible or I am doing something wrong here. I just got my Hanna checkers in the mail today and the phosphorus keeps giving me a 200ppb (0.613 ppm) reading. I'm thinking it's an error since that is the max reading it can give and my fish and corals are doing great. I'm not touching the vials (so they are clean), I add tank water, press the button, then add the reagent and hold the button. 3 mins later I get a 200ppb reading every time. Help!
     

  2. tvu

    tvu Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    228
    Are you shaking the vial then pressing button 3 seconds or add reagent and straight back in?
     
  3. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    Yes I am shaking for 2 mins (but trying to hurry it up because the checker turns off after 2 mins)
     
  4. tehmadreefer

    tehmadreefer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    442
    High po4 does not affect fish and depending on what type of corals you have ie; softies and lps they do better in high nutrient water.
     
  5. Brien

    Brien Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    55
    Simple solution, check a fresh batch or saltwater.
     
  6. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    I ran the test with another vile of water and got the same result. Is po4 that high unheard of? I have lots of lps but only one sps (a green stylo that's doing great). I'll run some phosban to be safe but am still wondering if I did something wrong...
     
  7. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    382
    Isn't 200 ppb the same as .2 ppm?
     
  8. smartwater101

    smartwater101 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It would be 0.61 and if I remember correctly, is as high as the Hanna phosphorus test can go.
     
    tehmadreefer likes this.
  9. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    According to hannas chart it is 0.613ppm
     
  10. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    And yes that's as high as it goes
     
  11. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    382
    I'm not saying you're wrong I'm just confused. I've been testing around 25 ppb and I always assumed that would be .025 ppm. Just moving the decimal over 3 places like in normal mathematics. Where is this chart you're talking about?
     
  12. smartwater101

    smartwater101 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  13. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    So assuming that I did the test right what should my game plan be? I can run some phosbond and get a water change ready for tomorrow? Here is the chart I'm using Screenshot_2019-05-15-15-59-58.png
     
  14. xxkenny90xx

    xxkenny90xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    108
    Ya I just got it today from brs. Interesting, everything I read said to get the phosphorus checker since it's more accurate. Hmm what to do...
     
  15. smartwater101

    smartwater101 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    [​IMG]

    For those of you who use something like google sheets, I made this to include the margin of error in my spreadsheet. (row 5 is an example reading) It also makes it so the range can't go negative. Just drop your Hanna results into A4 and you're good to go!

    [​IMG]

    B4) =A4*3.066/1000

    C4) =MAX(ROUND(((A4-5)*3.066/1000)*0.95,3) , 0 )&" - "&MAX(ROUND(((A4+5)*3.066/1000)*1.05,3) , 0 )


    Enjoy! :)
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
    Art2249 likes this.
  16. Art2249

    Art2249 Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    382
    Oh I see no
    Oh I see now! Thanks. Phosphorus and phosphate are not the same. And here all this time I've been adding phosphate to keep it at 25 when I should be shooting for 8 or 9. DUH!! Good news is I only need to stop adding and it will go down in about a week.
     
  17. bluprntguy

    bluprntguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Are you running GFO or any other phosphate reduction media? If not, you probably need to get some, but start slow. I don't think the checker is wrong, your phosphates are just high.
     
  18. smartwater101

    smartwater101 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I just switch over to the newer checker and am glad I did. I ALWAYS would do at least 2 (if not 3) tests with the previous checker, just to make sure I was getting similar readings. I still do that (out of habit) but the newer checker always shows similar results, where the older one is prone to misreading.

    There are already so many variables that can throw a hobby test-kit off. Not having time for the reagent to dissolve just adds to that.

    Also, Don't run Phosband or anything until you know you are getting proper results from your tests. No need to make changes until you're sure.
     
  19. clm65

    clm65 Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    Florida
    If you have the 736 phosphorous checker and it is reading 200, then your phosphates are at least 0.613 ppm. I say at least, because that is the upper limit of that device. You likely have more. I encountered the same thing, and ended up getting a 713 checker as well. My phosphates were near the upper limit of that device also, which is 2.5 ppm. It sounds like your issue will be resolved much easier than mine.
     
  20. JimFuller

    JimFuller Active Member Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    I have the Hanna Phosphate Checker. I had 2.10 ppm. I cross checked it with a Salfert test. It came out right on 2.00 ppm.

    You can have phosphate above
    .610 ppm. Have fun.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page