Heater placement in sump..

Xclusive Reef

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
1,591
Reaction score
846
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
So my sump is first chamber my chaeto refugium then its my skimmer and finally return. Is it ok to keep the heats in the first chamber with the chaeto? Skimmer chamber is vert tight and no room for heaters and apex probes.

IMG_3632.JPG
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
11,173
Reaction score
23,062
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sayreville, NJ
I believe it doesn't make a difference. The flow through is so great, you should be able to put them anywhere. I run two heaters, one in the skimmer section, the other in the return section, and the temperature probe is in the return section as well.
 
OP
Xclusive Reef

Xclusive Reef

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
1,591
Reaction score
846
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I believe it doesn't make a difference. The flow through is so great, you should be able to put them anywhere. I run two heaters, one in the skimmer section, the other in the return section, and the temperature probe is in the return section as well.

sounds good. thanks I was worried it would burn the chaeto or something lol
 
OP
Xclusive Reef

Xclusive Reef

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
1,591
Reaction score
846
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Actually yes I think it matters. Now that I think about it, you don’t want to put the temp probes after your heaters. It can throw off your reading being that the water temp is PASSING through the probes. I will have to find a way to put them after the probes.
 
Tidal Garden Memorial Day Sale

jwt1603

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
380
Reaction score
235
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St Johns, Florida
Actually yes I think it matters. Now that I think about it, you don’t want to put the temp probes after your heaters. It can throw off your reading being that the water temp is PASSING through the probes. I will have to find a way to put them after the probes.

Makes sense. I'll probably put my probes where the water is coming back from the display tank to get a more accurate reading of what it actually is in the DT. Then the heaters after them.

Or, because there is so much water moving through the sump, does the temperature change radically from one end of the sump to the other or not? I don't have mine set up yet so I can't put probes on both ends of the sump to compare readings.
 

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
11,173
Reaction score
23,062
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sayreville, NJ
Actually yes I think it matters. Now that I think about it, you don’t want to put the temp probes after your heaters. It can throw off your reading being that the water temp is PASSING through the probes. I will have to find a way to put them after the probes.

I've been running a 90 DT with a 40B sump this way for ten years with a tight temperature range of 28.0 to 28.3. Hysteresis keeps the probe from immediately reacting. The only thing I can say is, it works for me!
 

How much of your saltwater reef tank is automated?

  • Nothing is automated

    Votes: 55 12.7%
  • 25% or so

    Votes: 135 31.3%
  • 50% or so

    Votes: 102 23.6%
  • 75% or so

    Votes: 92 21.3%
  • Close to 100%

    Votes: 45 10.4%
  • Totally Automated (we need proof)

    Votes: 3 0.7%
AAF
Top