HELP First Pico Reef!!!

Amelia Lee

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I have planned on starting my VERY FIRST nano reef in a 5 gallon Fluval Chi. I am attaching a link to the tank so you can see the specifications. Yes, I already know many wouldn't pick this as a marine set up but for budget and space constrictions, this is what I'm going with. Please give ANY and ALL suggestions, I am a newbie and don't know anything outside of my research!

http://www.petsmart....36-catid-300065

The tank is 12.5"L x 12.5"W x 12.5"H.

I know the LED lights and filter that came with the tank will not be plausible with what I'm looking for. I am going to go with a canister filter most likely. I want a cheap one that is also very efficient and quiet. I found this one online fairly cheap but not sure if it is worth it. Keep in mind I will be upgrading around the tank as needed. The reviews on this filter seem pretty good so I guess I'll try this unless I get any other suggestions.

http://www.drsfoster...atid=16742&s=lh

I will most likely replace the filter media with something I prefer. I like the idea that it has a spray bar which will help with water flow around the tank. I am adding Kent Marine Nano Reef Start Up Additives. I also have Instant Ocean Bio-Spira Start Up Aquarium Additive. This helps prevent new tank syndrome.

I am ordering live sand (6 lbs) and live rock (6 lbs) for my tank online. I found an All-In-One Reef kit online that includes a good start out Clean Up Crew. They ship the sand and rock first through airline shipping which I will pick up at the airport approximately January 11th. I want to have the water ready just to make the transfer process a little more stress-free. I am headed to the petstore tomorrow to get a salt mix and a bucket to practice mixing saltwater for my water changes and as needed in the future. I am planning on getting a Water Dechlorinator as well so I don't have to use an RO system.