Help! High nitrites in qt

yenniffer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
.Hello I set up a qt tank due to an ich outbreak. My nitrates are >5ppm and I can’t get them down, i have done 50% water change and nothing, i just have a few pvc elbows. Should i add live rock to help with the bacteria? I am new to this whole qt thing. I had started dosing copper power slowly but i guess i have to start all over again since that big wc took place. I already had 2 fish loss and i believe was by of the high nitrites. Nitrates were also on the high side.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
.Hello I set up a qt tank due to an ich outbreak. My nitrates are >5ppm and I can’t get them down, i have done 50% water change and nothing, i just have a few pvc elbows. Should i add live rock to help with the bacteria? I am new to this whole qt thing. I had started dosing copper power slowly but i guess i have to start all over again since that big wc took place. I already had 2 fish loss and i believe was by of the high nitrites. Nitrates were also on the high side.
Are you testing for ammonia, and if so, what test are you using?
What nitrite test are you using? Here is something few people know - nitrite is virtually non-toxic to marine fish. The salt in the water blocks the uptake of the nitrite ion by the fish. Nitrite is DEADLY to freshwater fish though.
Jay

Qasimja

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
thats why i only test for ammonia in my QT tanks
What nitrite test are you using? Here is something few people know - nitrite is virtually non-toxic to marine fish. The salt in the water blocks the uptake of the nitrite ion by the fish. Nitrite is DEADLY to freshwater fish though.
Jay

OP
OP
Y

yenniffer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Jay