Help me move my nano reef tank

DonJuanAntwon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I’m a newbie reefer that could use any insight/advice. I’m moving from Tennessee to Florida and I’m moving my 10 gallon nano reef tank (thank god it’s small) with me (13 hour drive). I’m not as worried as I thought of be as I had a 24 hour power outage this year and was able to keep everything alive with battery powered air stone and wrapping my tank in a blanket (tank temp got to 65F). Reef tank is about 11 months old and doing great. I really don’t want to sell and start all over.

-Fish/inverts: two clowns, sharknose goby, yasha goby, and a yellow striped Pygmy wrasse, tuxedo urchin, tiger conch, skunk shrimp, and assortment of snails

1.) My plan is to get three 5 gallon buckets (w/ tops and holes) fill them with tank water. All my live rock / corals in one, all fish /inverts in one, and a third filled with salt water just in case. Any special thoughts how to separate them? I plan to keep the corals on the rock and glue them into the bucket so they don’t move around or topple over. Every bucket will have a battery air stone.

2.) what should I do with the sand? My plan is to clean it in a bucket and put it back into the tank and transport it in the tank with a little salt water and reuse it.

3.) I have two extra 5 gallon jugs of ready to go salt water

4.) I plan to break it all down early in the morning and hit the road, 13 hours straight and immediately set it all back up in our new house.

5,) what should I do with my filter (coralife) and skimmer (bubble magnus qq1)? Take the bio media out and place it in the fish bucket? And throughly clean both?

I’ll take any advice/thoughts I can get! Thank you all!

IMG_1859.jpeg IMG_1857.jpeg

Last edited:

tmccaff

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
don't reuse the sand you can use about a cup of the old sand. The other stuff sounds good. Why you using a filter? Don't you have rock?

OP
OP
D