Help me pick Hydros vs Apex

Mflores888

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm looking to get one of these two to monitor my tank when I go out on vacation (usually 4 times a year).

I mainly want to keep an eye on a couple things, mainly temperature, salinity and any leaks.

I'm not sure if it will make much of a difference but the equipment I am currently using is the following.

Reef Octopus

2x radions

Current Dual powerheads

Jebao DC pump

2x hygger heaters

And an ATO I don't remember the brand

So back to the question which system would be ideal for me? I don't plan to add any testing units as I just want it to monitor my basic stuff and send me alerts. I have no experience with either so any help would be greatly appreciated.

StatelineReefer

Reef Safe With Caution
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm looking to get one of these two to monitor my tank when I go out on vacation (usually 4 times a year).

I mainly want to keep an eye on a couple things, mainly temperature, salinity and any leaks.

Hydros can't do salinity yet, that's upcoming, so Apex 1, Hydros 0

I'm not sure if it will make much of a difference but the equipment I am currently using is the following.

Makes all the difference in the world

Reef Octopus

Skimmer or powerhead or return pump, they make all these. Assuming skimmer, this can be controlled by either, you can even drill a float switch into the top and have it trigger to shut off when the skimmer cup is full.

Apex 2, Hydros 1
2x radions

Light control can be rolled out by apex, but not Hydros, Apex 3, Hydros 1

Current Dual powerheads

Both again, Apex 4, Hydros 2

Jebao DC pump

On/Off can be controlled by both, Speed, not so much. I'll leave the score the same.

2x hygger heaters

Both come with temp monitoring, and both can shut off heaters within a certain range. Sensor drift is about the same on both, so Apex 5, Hydros 3

And an ATO I don't remember the brand