HELP My clownfish is sick. I think.

technocolor

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Eh, first post on here, hopefully i can get this little guy cured. Anyway I'm very new to the world of marine fish keeping and my fish is acting odd. My tank is newly cycled, and I just got my first fish a couple of days ago. I had a few inverts in there as well and they are doing great. but my ocellaris is acting strange but then again it could just be me over reacting because i have other freshwater fish that i am treating for hexamita. he seemed healthy and happy when i got him. he is maybe an inch and a half long, and a few days ago i noticed a perfectly round pink spot on the side of his head. he was also breathing heavy, so i did a water change and that slowed the breathing down some but he still had that spot and it disappeared yesterday sometime. and he was breathing heavy again, so i just treated it as maybe he is just stressed from entering a new tank. but now he is hiding, his colors are fading, he is at the bottom of the tank, and i can see straight through him, literally. he is so malnourished, which is odd because i feed my fish on a schedule, and he looked plumpish yesterday. I will post pictures and more info tomorrow but for now you'll have to go off of the evidence i have given. Any insights are appreciated.

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All in All, without a pic, it sounds like new tank stress. Of which can be fatal if you can't get him to eat at all. Can you give us your full tank water parameters?

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All in All, without a pic, it sounds like new tank stress. Of which can be fatal if you can't get him to eat at all. Can you give us your full tank water parameters?

^^This. I would especially like to know what your current nitrite/ammonia readings are. Also, how long has this tank been setup?

OP
OP
T

technocolor

View Badges