Help on salinity

howdydoo91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi i'm new to reef2reef so i dont really know how tags work, but I do have a few questions, the biggest being how ro/di water works. Today I recieved an aquaticlife ro/di, and when I tested the hardness (my tap water is beyond unsafe due to it) in which it came out to 0 for the first time ever. After adding instant ocean salt I noticed the hardness increased by a lot within a few minutes, and I'm also having trouble getting my salinity higher than .20-.21 now. Is there something that may be going wrong?

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Adding salt to RODI water will make it increase TDS/Hardness. TDS of sea water is 35,000 mg/l.

DDenny

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is good that your getting 0 TDS out of your RO/DI but like KStatefan said when you add salt the TDS will go up. For salinity shoot for 1.024-1.026 specific gravity or 34-35 ppt. How are you measuring your salinity? With a refractometer? As far as bringing up the salinity you just add a little salt at a time until you get to where you want it to me if it gets to high add a little RO/DI. Your using IO salt and that is what I use as well. I put a level 1/2 cup per gallon and that gets me close then I just add RO/DI until I get mine to 35ppt.

OP
OP
H

howdydoo91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0