Help. Tank is dying

zeevelji

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is dying and I don't know why :(

Last night all my inverts were dead. This morning I found 3 fish dead.

The values of my tank:
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 10ppm
Saline 1.025
Calc 490
Magnisium 1297
Alkalinity 12
Temp 78

I thought my testers were wrong so I took my water to my LSF and they said the same.

I've done a 30% water change.
Any ideas? Most of the fish are hiding. My clown is on the verge of death. Most of the corals are open but they haven't fully extended.

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry to hear about your fish and tank mates. I'm not an expert, but your numbers look fine. I'm doubtful that your ammonia is at zero with all the livestock dying, but you said your LFS confirmed this.

When was this tank started? Did you use live rock and sand, or dry rock and sand?

What are you using for water? Tap water, RODI water, buying water from the LSF?

Mikeltee

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Do you have an electrical meter? Check the tank for a voltage by placing the red in the water and the black inside the the ground hole of an outlet. That is the only thing that I can think of that would wipe out Inverts and fish. I've had all my fish wiped out by velvet within 24 hours and have had all my fish but one wiped out in 4 hours due to a blue hippo going nuts. In both cases, all Inverts and corals were fine.

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0