Help with BRS 2-part dosing and stability

reeferparty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm fairly new to dosing but have done extensive reading on it prior to starting. I've been running BRS 2 part dose for about 3 months now but no matter what I do, I can't keep my parameters to stabilize.

~water volume 85g mixed reef

1.025 salinity
Temp 76-78
Ph 8-8.2
Alk 7.5-8.5 (Hanna)
Ca 400-420 (Red Sea)
Mg 1400-1600(nsw after WC with Fritz salt) (Red Sea)
No3 undetectable at the moment and working on raising back up to 5-10 (Red Sea)
Po4 .04-.08 (Hanna ULR)

Current dosing schedule is as follows:
054b10d73da14d71faca34ac78382464.jpg

Orange is Alk and blue is ca.

I've recalibrated my dosing pumps and took pumps off line for couple days to recalculate tank consumption -roughly 1.3dkh/day. However, despite dosing 78.9ml of equal parts over 24hrs, and rechecking at the same time every evening, I'm still getting about the same drop in Alk as if I didn't dose! Also, it seems as though my daily ca consumption is 20ppm. Is that too much? And it goes against the 20ppm per 2.8dkh rule of thumb. I feel that I'm already dosing a lot for what I have in the tank (little to no coralline algae). I do have minor precipitation on my glass down at sand level and a little in my return chamber where I dose.

I've been testing, recalculating, and tweaking constantly on a weekly basis but I can't seem to get things to fall in line. What should I do? Should I take doser off line and just dose by hand for a week to further confirm my tanks consumption? I'm absolutely stumped!! Thanks in advance

OP
OP
R

reeferparty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sunday evening after WC Alk was at 8.6
Monday evening 7.6 -manually dosed up to 8.5
Tuesday evening 7.7 -manually dosed up to 8.5
Wednesday evening 7.4 -manually dosed up to 8.3

This is all while running my doser for 24hrs, dosing 78.9ml.

Last edited:

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score