Help with camera body decision and possible future lens limitations

newbreefer316

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've done a little research, but barely scratched the surface with as much as there is out there, and think I'm about ready for a little hands on time but I'm looking for a little bit of general guidance before picking up my first camera.

I'll start off with the fact that I'm a hobbyist and looking for a camera that can also be easily used to capture moments with the family.

That being said I'm leaning towards a mirror-less 4/3 body for the smaller package. With the camera only being part of the equation, does the body choice I'm looking at limit me when it comes to eventually getting a decent/good f2.8 macro lens? Are there any brands to lean towards or stay away from, based on usability and lens compatibility? I'm looking to spend up to $500 for the body and that puts me in the sony a6000, canon eos m100 and olympus omd range.

ChrisRD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There is some amazing Micro 4/3 gear these days and the system certainly won't limit you...plenty of fast glass, good flash system, etc. I tried Olympus for a while but couldn't get used to the small size (even though the IQ and functionality was excellent)...and ended going back to Canon mostly because I'm very comfortable with that system (I have shot Canon gear as far back as film in the 80s). I will definitely miss the in-body IS system on the Oly...works great.