Help with Green Goniopora

Chewbacca

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just received my Green Goniopora today,
During my dipping I noticed like a small spider looking thing attached to it, as well as other hikers jumping out. I am new with Goniopora an can not find any photos of say infants growth of Goniopora anywhere that looks like the photo attached. Thanks for any help and advice
592E817A-7331-4A8B-80EF-1D652ED5C66C.jpeg

Dana Riddle

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You're doing the right thing by dipping the coral. Once you're sure it is parasite-free, feed it phytoplankton daily for best growth.

CaliReefs

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It’s difficult to tell from the photo, but it’s appears to be new growth.
Best way to find out is to blast it with a powerhead to remove any loose parasites etc....

UCF Alum

Stick addict
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have several goniporas. That is not growth. They start out at tiny baby heads then start getting longer. The back pic looks like an aiptasia, the front it’s hard to tell from the pic. I will try to snap a pic and post it of what new growth looks like

Also, that looks like a zoanthid, not a goni.

OP
OP
Chewbacca

Chewbacca

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It’s difficult to tell from the photo, but it’s appears to be new growth.
Best way to find out is to blast it with a powerhead to remove any loose parasites etc....
Already done that dipped and blasted sitting in isolation for now

OP
OP
Chewbacca

Chewbacca

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have several goniporas. That is not growth. They start out at tiny baby heads then start getting longer. The back pic looks like an aiptasia, the front it’s hard to tell from the pic. I will try to snap a pic and post it of what new growth looks like

Also, that looks like a zoanthid, not a goni.