How do I make a modern looking stand?

ScottsTot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a newbie (no saltwater setup yet) in the research phase. I am tempted to purchase the Red Sea Reefer 170 or 250. The 170 would consume my budget and the 250 is over my budget but I can’t get over the beauty and quality of these tanks!

If I go with a IM Nuvo (or another sleek tank) and am able to pull off a nice looking stand, I can save about $1000 in total costs. Plus, the lack of space for an ATO container in the 170 (a pricey but reasonable option) is a downer.

I built 2 stands for my freshwater setups in the past and they actually came out okay….if you stand far. I don’t like how things don’t line up and you can see the end grains of the plywood. Looks amateurish. Attached some pictures. Excuse the mess. Spring cleaning coming soon :). You can see how things don't line up.

Can you help me learn what would be required to make a stand that looks like a Red Sea Reefer stand (or close to it). I’m looking to make the stand flush with the display and look minimalistic and modern. If it’s economical and possible for a newbie, I may give it a try.

Tools I currently own:

Miter saw, level, right angle square, Kreg pocket hole jig, measuring tape

1. Is building my stand worth the extra cost and time? I suspect building a stand will cost $200 to $300 depending on if I need new tools.
  2. How do you make the end grains of the plywood invisible?
  3. Do I need to use 2x4s for the frame? I will most likely go with a 40 gallon display.
  4. If I do not use 2x4s and use only 3/4 inch plywood, is a back necessary? I would have a top, bottom, and sides. The front will be only doors.
  5. Is a circular saw the best tool for ripping plywood and cutting holes in plywood?
  6. Is a slight overhand of the display tank safe?