How long is too long for a toadstool to shed??

Acroporaguy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone. I purchased a real deal weeping willow (it actually weeps!) a bit ago. It opened for roughly five days after adding it to the tank. It's been closed for 12 days now. I also noticed some strange growth on it's skin. Should I be worried? I can't afford to lose this coral (I wouldn't even be able to replace it). I have lots of experience with leathers (my tank is packed with sarcophytons), so my tank environment and such is just fine. I've had leathers shed for a while, but never get such growth on their skin. Should I just keep waiting?

Thanks.

As of today.
IMG_9843.jpg
IMG_9844.jpg

When it first started to 'shed'
IMG_9845.jpg

Nano sapiens

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Doesn't look like the typically shedding process to me. Looks like possibly scar tissue from bites or something embedded into the tissue? As you likely know, leathers are real sensitive to even small physical disturbances and it doesn't take much to have them close up for extended periods.

I'd scrape a few samples off and look under a strong magnifier to see if it has something like small isopods or the like.

Hunterzane

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone. I purchased a real deal weeping willow (it actually weeps!) a bit ago. It opened for roughly five days after adding it to the tank. It's been closed for 12 days now. I also noticed some strange growth on it's skin. Should I be worried? I can't afford to lose this coral (I wouldn't even be able to replace it). I have lots of experience with leathers (my tank is packed with sarcophytons), so my tank environment and such is just fine. I've had leathers shed for a while, but never get such growth on their skin. Should I just keep waiting?

Thanks.

As of today.
IMG_9843.jpg
IMG_9844.jpg

IMG_9845.jpg