How soon after Reef tank Melt Down After Power Outage

Mongoose87

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi folks,
I have a reef tank I've been keeping for about 10 years that unfortunately had a melt down after a prolonged power outage for about 72 hours. If you ever had this happen you probably know how this goes; "Estimated 4 hrs until power restored," 6 hours go by, "4 more hours until power restored;" 8 more hours go by, "4 more hours until power restored." I never hated PG&E so much until now, but I'm really the one to blame for not setting up a backup system. This long in the hobby I should have done this.
I tried to circulate some water after about hr 36, but then my old tired backup battery stopped after about 1.5 hrs, so it was a bit of a bungle on my part. Of course at that point i was thinking it would be only 4 more hours until the power was restored, so what's the difference after 36 hrs already.
I looked at the temperature and it got down to 55 degrees, so really not good. What's funny, is the coral didn't really look super bad until the pumps and heater turned back on again. I think that sudden burst of circulation after so long and heat was too much. I was stupid and just left the heater to heat the water all the way back up to 77 degrees as quickly as possible. In hindsight that was a mistake.

So now the question is what to do next. I had a lot of coral in there that have all pretty much died. Many xenia that seem like they are on their way to the grave. This was a pretty grown in system, so I feel 2 ways about it. One side of me thinks the system should be more robust after such a long time, even if there is die off.