How to do water changes from the sump?

Sordfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am relatively new to sumps. My previous tanks have all been canisters. I had set up a semi-automatic water change system where I had a small drain pump permanently in the display to drain the tank, and a small pump in the salt water tank to refill it through a hose that also stayed in the display tank permanently. Not very slightly but made water changes as simple as turning on and off two pumps. Now that I have a sump, I’d like to put the drain pump in the sump, and have the hose from the salt water tank to end in the sump. This should look a lot better. However, the volume of the sump is 25 gallons and the tank is 120. So I’d not be able to do water changes larger than 15% of the total volume. Any thoughts on how to do larger water changes through the sump?

OP
OP
Sordfish

Sordfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do more small changes
Thanks. Small changes are what I usually do but sometimes you need to do larger water changes to get proper dilution of nutrients or chemicals. For example, there are emergencies where you need a large water change ASAP. In other situations, you may be able to wait but doing small water changes to get a large dilution can be wasteful. For example, to get 40% dilution, you’d have to do 7% daily changes over the course of a week resulting in a 50% water change in total. This is wasteful since you are using 25% more water (50%) in comparison to the dilution you achieve (40%). So for these situations I wanted to see if people have a clever solution of how to do a large (25% or more) from the sump - this site is full of creative people. I am just setting up my plumbing so I want to set up a system that will work for all situations.

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0