How To: turn your old router into a wireless adapter using dd-wrt

Rip Van Winkle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just a question.... when a router gets flashed with DD-WRT, is it still limited to the original WiFi hardware in the router? For example, if the router was a Wireless B or Wireless G router can DD-WRT firmware convert/upgrade it to a Wireless N router?

Brad Shook

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So is there a way to hook it to a radion g4 to connect wireless instead of buying the controller or plugging a usb directly to the light?

Dominat0r

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check out tomato too, I am an IT guy by trade and always have a DDWRT and Tomato router on me for various reasons. I setup a friend with a Linksys for his time share, with DD-WRT to use as a WAP.. He gets free wifi, but its only password protected. He was not able to setup any url blocking for his children and that is very important to him (Strict dad, love it). Also set him up with a OPENDNS account. If you are in need of blocking any type of traffic, OPENDNS works fairly well.

Dominat0r

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just a question.... when a router gets flashed with DD-WRT, is it still limited to the original WiFi hardware in the router? For example, if the router was a Wireless B or Wireless G router can DD-WRT firmware convert/upgrade it to a Wireless N router?

NO, limited to hardware in that aspect.

reefsammy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ok so i see a lot of ppl wasting money on buying a wireless adapter to connect to their Controllers.. this step-by-step will show you how to create a wireless adapter with an extra home router.. basically you're replacing the router's firmware with dd-wrt's

Things you need: