How To: turn your old router into a wireless adapter using dd-wrt

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by ToXIc, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
    manually set this IP on your mac

    IP:192.168.1.10
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    and see if you can get into the router..
     

  2. mic209

    mic209 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA

    Hate to be a PIA, but how do I do this?
     
  3. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
  4. Wankell

    Wankell Well-Known Member SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Hey guys, I log into my router with 192.168.100.1 but the LAN IP once logged in lists it at 192.168.0.1, which one do I set DNS to?
     
  5. Wankell

    Wankell Well-Known Member SCMAS Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    nvm, I hard wired it for now, just want to get it running!
     
  6. shikashane

    shikashane Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Carbondale, PA
    Nice!! Any updates I should know before attmpting this??
     
  7. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
    Not really pretty much the same.
     
  8. Sicks Rocks

    Sicks Rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. Im new to most aquarium technology. The impression I'm getting is that you can make two routers communicate wirelessly. One of them will be hooked up to the pc. And the other one to the tank equipment? and what aquarium devices can be controlled this way?
     
  9. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
    This is used to connect your apex controller to your network wirelessly. Or the net module for you reef angel.

    Basically it can be used in place of a long network cable for devices that are not wifi capable.
     
  10. Sicks Rocks

    Sicks Rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Makes sense. Thanks for getting me caught up on the topic and I'm hoping soon to be able to do this on my tank
     
  11. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
    No problem.
     
  12. Dtech07

    Dtech07 SPS LOVER!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Still good info.
     
  13. VicD81

    VicD81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    LA
    I THINK I JUST RUINED MY ROUTER!
    Loaded the update, it completed and not my router just flashes the green light and i cannot connect to it anymore.

    Its s Netgear WNR2000v2

    Is there anyway to restore it?
     
  14. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
  15. VicD81

    VicD81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    LA
    Didn't work. But now Along with the flashing green light I've got a steady yellow light when plugged in to my PC.
     
  16. VicD81

    VicD81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    LA
    Ill try to ping it when i get home today.
     
  17. VicD81

    VicD81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    LA
  18. ToXIc

    ToXIc Well-Known Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TN
    Sweet
     
  19. N1Husker

    N1Husker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Olalla, Washington
    I will have to get with my tech savvy son who will check this out. I have the Lynxsis router you speak of. Will this work with the Digital Aquatics Reefkeeper Lite unit?
     
  20. jaesong

    jaesong Gentlemen Wanderer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    22
    WRT54G's are beasts with the firmware upgrade. They turn a 30 dollar router into a 200 dollar practically enterprise grade router. Even let's you monitor wireless strengths to the db.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...