HW Marinemix mixing high Alk

shakygator

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is anyone out there using HW Marinemix Reefer salt that can or has tested Alk recently?

I have been using this salt for a few years now and although I have not ever tested a fresh mixed batch before, the BRS provided mix details have always seemed accurate to me as I keep my tanks around 8 dKh. Normal water changes have partially maintained but never spiked my alk within range. I do also dose liquid soda ash to maintain.

Upon BRS analysis - hw-Marinemix Reefer contained Calcium at 445-450 ppm, Alk of 9.0 dKH, Magnesium at 1380 ppm.

Recently BRS was out of stock of HW marinemix and there was a period before they restocked. Once they restocked I purchased 2 boxes since I was out (I had actually just bought a box of RedSea Blue then they got HW in like the next day). Long story short I was having some issues in my frag system so I was doing several 30% water changes and when I tested the alk in that system it was over 10 dKh. This surprised me, considering HW is supposed to mix under 10 dKh. I did a second test to verify and it was within range again. So I tested a freshly mixed batch @ 1.025-1.026 and to no surprise it tested at 13.4 dKh. My other system is reading at 8.6 dKh, which is where I expect it to be, so I don't think my checker is off.

So my question is - did HW change their concentrations? Did this most recent batch have QC issues? I have not tested my second box yet. I just opened it today though so I will report back those readings as well.

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is anyone out there using HW Marinemix Reefer salt that can or has tested Alk recently?