IceCap module maxspect gyre questions

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by Salahunreal, Aug 26, 2017.

  1. Salahunreal

    Salahunreal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi good people :)

    I am planning to buy two maxspect gyre XF250 and want to connect them to apex.
    My questions as below

    1- As far as I understood, the IceCap module will replace the gyre controller, so in this case i don't need to buy the controller, right?

    2- Would it be possible to control two gyres XF250 with one IceCap module or is there any other solution to have one module for the two gyres?

    3- Most important question is which one would be best, connecting both gyres to Apex and use it as controller for them or stick with the original controller and forget about connecting them to Apex.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2017

  2. wcharon

    wcharon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    PR
    I am in the same boat. Hope we get some answers soon as there are deals that finish tomorrow. Also including MP-40. I don't like all the eggs in the same basket neither so in my case maybe the separate controller.

    Decisions, decisions, decisions.
     
  3. Salahunreal

    Salahunreal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Sweden
    From what I found so far, that
    1- Yes it will replace the original controller and no need to buy a controller with it.
    2- Each icecap fits only gyre :(
    3- Looks like there is nothing you can do with the original controller that you can not do with apex. Might be more like finding the right profile or script but eventually apex will do what is required.
     
  4. Haubfather07

    Haubfather07 Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Wilder, KY
    I was asking on Neptune's Apex Forum and someone said that the IceCap was discontinued due to it under powering the Gyre when used in place of the MaxSpec controller. Sounds like you might have went without the Gyre controller, can you report back? I don't understand why the IceCap module was discontinued and I'm having issues finding answers on the problem. Some say to expect a replacement out sometime soon that corrects the problem, who knows. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...