Ich infestation

ab2gail

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have an angelfish that had a few spots of ich about a week ago. I quarantined the fish and tried hydrogen peroxide treatment, since I read some reviews and it was on hand. The fish as of now has no visible ich and is doing okay. I noticed today that my pair of clowns both have ich. One is breathing very heavily, shows very little interest in food and is covered in ich on all parts. The other is not as far gone and is still eating and is breathing okay. I don’t know how to treat my clownfish. I tried a freshwater dip but learned that it just caused more stress. Do I move them to my quarantined tank even though I still have my angel in there and she seems okay? I’m still fairly new to the hobby as it hasn’t been over a year since I’ve had my tank. Any help is very appreciated.

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If one fish in your DT has ich, then they all have it (or will get it). Once the parasites drop off the fish, it sticks to rock, sand, glass, etc. as part of the life cycle. The next phase of the life cycle is the releasing of free swimmers which seeks out any & all fish to infect.

Also, H2O2 only provides temporary relief for parasites at best. You need to treat with Copper, Chloroquine phosphate, tank transfer method, or hyposalinity in QT. All of which are listed here with links to more info: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/ich-cryptocaryon-irritans.191226/

OP
OP
ab2gail

ab2gail

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0