Interested in fish I have no experience with

bigbugoutfitters

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Fish I have really been thinking about and believe should be fine, just not sure on how they will all get along:

1 Mombasa Lionfish/fu manchu/dwarf(just one, in order of preference, and availability)
1 blue spotted/spotted/central American sharpnose puffer (just one, in order of preference, and availability)
1 Dusky wrasse(had one of these in my last tank, by far favorite fish ive seen)
Either some flasher/fairy wrasse or a Halichoeres chrysus(had one of these in the past, loved it)
1 pixy hawkfish

Fish that i would love, but feel free to talk me out of:
tomini tangs are cool, but this is a 60 gallon :'(
ghost ribbon eel

I have been looking at liveaquaria with my wife for the last few years dreaming about coming to a place in our lives where I/we can get back into the hobby. Well, I am currently building a stand for a 60G tank! Nice! My previous tanks have been wrasse focused and i definitely would like a wrasse or two, but I have always loved puffers and lions. As a kid our sunday brunch place had a FOWLR tank with triggers, a zebra moray, a spiny puffer and a big ol lionfish. Hawkfish would just be nice to watch rollin around on the rocks.

SO, from what I have read all of those fish are coral safe if not necessarily reef safe however I am not sure on the followning:
Stocking order being something like flasher, hawkfish, puffer, dusky wrasse(wanting a more mature tank, waiting longer), maybe tang, maybe eel, lionfish?
Is the bio load going to be bonkers on this tank, will have a fair bit of macro algae so that should help
thinking about going with tampa bay saltwater live sand, should be fine for the dusky wrasse to burrow into, no?

If you have any other questions about the build or plans for the tank, please do ask, thanks!

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0